Virus-Like Particle & Nano-Particle Vaccines

4-6 June 2014, Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, California, USA

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Day Two

Final Conference Programme | Thursday 5th June

PLANT-Based Production

Moderator: Marc-Andre D’Aoust (Medicago, Quebec City, Quebec, Canada)

‘Plants as an efficient system for the production of virus-like particles for vaccine and nanotechnology purposes’
George P. Lomonossoff, Keith Saunders, Y. Meshcheriakova, J. Marsian, Eva C. Thuenemann, Hadrein Peyret, P. Saxena, and N. Montague (John Innes Centre, Colney, Norwich, UK)

‘Molecular farming and engineering of a HER2 cancer vaccine’
Sourabh Shukla and Nicole F. Steinmetz (Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio, USA)

‘Optimization and characterization of an HIV vaccine using replicating vaccinia virus and plant-produced Gag and dgp41 virus-like particles’
Lydia R. Meador, Sarah A. Kessans, Jacquelyn Kilbourne, Karen L. Denzler, Karen V. Kibler, Joseph N. Blattman, Bertram L. Jacobs and Tsafrir S. Mor (Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona, USA)

Coffee Break & Posters


Moderator: Marianne Manchester (University of California at San Diego, San Diego, California, USA)

‘Protection of mice against live rotavirus challenge induced by rotavirus VP6 vaccine in dl2/6-VLP or tubular formulation’
Suvi Lappalainen, Ana Ruth Pastor, Maria Malm, Vanessa Lopez-Guerrero, Fernando Esquivel-Guadarrama, Laura A. Palomares, Timo Vesikari and Vesna Blazevic (University of Tampere, Tampere, Finland)

In-vivo characterization of microneedle-based delivery of VLP and nanoparticle vaccine formulation’
Mark A. Tomai, L. Niu, L. Chu, J. Panyam and Kris J. Hansen (3M Company, St. Paul, Minnesota, USA)

‘Development and characterization of MS2 virus-like particles displaying N-terminal peptide libraries’
Jayne M. Christen, Bryce Chackerian and David S. Peabody (University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA)

‘Using VLPs and camelid nanobodies to create an antigen scaffold for vaccine production purposes: The gene jockey experience’
Hadrien Peyret, Eva C. Thuenemann and George P. Lomonossoff (John Innes Centre, Colney, Norwich, UK)

‘Challenges in the development of an insect cell-derived influenza A(H7N9) VLP vaccine: From gene to man’
Gale Smith (Novavax Inc., Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA)

Lunch Break & Posters


Moderator: T.M. Ross (Vaccine and Gene Therapy Institute of Florida, St Lucie, Florida, USA)

‘Immune history shapes specificity of pandemic H1N1 influenza antibody responses’
D.M. Carter, C.J. Crevar, Y. Li, J. Wrammert, S. Esposito, R. Ahmed, P.C. Wilson, S.E. Hensley and T.M. Ross (Vaccine and Gene Therapy Institute of Florida, St Lucie, Florida, USA)

‘Optimization of influenza virus-like particles (VLPs) in eukaryotic cells’
Peter Pushko, Rachmat Hidajat and Irina Tretyakova (Medigen Inc., Frederick, Maryland, USA)

‘A novel Escherchia coli derived pandemic influenza vaccine that induces neutralizing antibodies and potent CD4+ T-helper type-1 responses’
David A.G. Skibinski, Brendon J. Hanson, Wu Xue Lin, Hoang Truong Long, Yufang Lin, Veronika von Messling, Andrea Jegerlehner, Jason Boon Sern Tee, De Hoe Chye, Steven K.K. Wong, Amanda A.P. Ng, Hui Yin Lee, Bijin Au, Nivashini Kaliaperumal, Bernett T.K. Lee, Lucia Santosa, Veronica Diermayr, Michael Poidinger, Anna-Marie Fairhurst, Alex Matter, Martin Hibberd,
Martin F. Bachmann, Philippe Saudan and John E. Connolly (A*Star, Agency for Science, Technology and Research, Singapore)

‘M2e-coated gold nanoparticle-based intranasal vaccine provides heterosubtypic protection against influenza A challenge’
Harvinder Singh Gill, Wenqian Tao, Bart Tarbet and Silke Paust (Texas Tech University, Lubbock, Texas, USA)

‘Computationally optimized broadly reactive antigens (COBRA): Developing broadly reactive VLP vaccines against emerging and seasonal influenza’
Corey J. Crevar, Donald M. Carter and Ted M. Ross (Vaccine & Gene Therapy Institute of Florida, Port St. Lucie, Florida, USA)

Tea Break & Posters


Moderator: Melissa Herbst-Kralovetz (University of Arizona, Phoenix, Arizona, USA)

‘A HIV-1-VLP vaccine expressing pure native Env trimers elicits potent neutralizing antibodies directed to a quarternary, glycan-sensitive epitope’
James M. Binley, Ema T. Crooks, Bimal Chakrabarti, Keiko Osawa, Kristen Narayan, Janelle Muranaka, Sean X. Du, Tommy Tong, Robert Whalen and Richard Wyatt (San Diego Biomedical Research Institute, San Diego, California, USA)

‘A VLP-based malaria vaccine candidate based on an epitope of the Plasmodium falciparum RH5 protein’
Bryce Chackerian, David S. Peabody, Amy Noe, Gabriel Gutierrez and Cheryl A. Lobo (University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA)

‘Development of a recombinant dengue vaccine targeting E domain III’
Sean P. McBurney, William F. Sutton, William B. Messer and Nancy L. Haigwood (Oregon Health Sciences University, Beaverton, Oregon, USA)

‘Virus-like particles as vaccine for paramyxoviruses: Protective efficacy of RSV-VLPs’
Pramila Walpita, Lisa M. Johns and Brian Gilbert (University of Hawaii at Manoa, Hawaii)


VLPNPV 2014 Delegates

Login details will be supplied after you have registered for the event.

VLPNPV 2014 Venue

VLPNPV 2014 Sponsors

  • Medicago
  • Malvern
  • Aldevron
  • Medigen
  • Sanofi Pasteur
  • VLP Biotech
  • Novavax
  • Matrivax
  • Vironova
  • SALK Institute
  • Univac
  • Izon
  • John Innes Centre
  • Mucosis
  • Vedantra Pharmaceuticals
  • Fraunhofer USA
  • Takeda
  • Virometix Vaccines
  • Vaccine Research Center

VLPNPV 2014 Downloads

VLPNPV 2014 Leaflet

VLPNPV 2014 Mailing List

E-mail Address
What is 2+6-2?