Universal Influenza Vaccines 2022

7-9 March 2022, The Richard Doll Building, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size



Due to the current COVID-19 crisis, UIV 2020 has been postponed from 12-15 October 2021 to 7-9 March 2022.



10-11 March 2022, Richard Doll Building, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

This new and timely two day international meeting will be devoted to up-to-date developments relating to COVID-19 vaccines currently in use and being developed worldwide to tackle the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.

COVID-19 VACCINES (CVW 2022) FOR THE WORLD will be aimed at updating the community on the current COVID-19 vaccines in use and those vaccines still under development in the UK, Europe, North America, China and Asia. There will be a focus on the major concerns relating to COVID-19 virus variants and what the requirements will be necessary to enable amended COVID-19 vaccines to counter new virus variants.

There will also be an additional focus, relating to the sister UIV 2022 meeting, on the potential ongoing problems that may arise with seasonal influenza in 2022 and beyond and the clear evidence that the seasonal influenza in the 2020/2021 was minimal during the COVID-19 pandemic in that period.

If you wish to offer a talk/poster to the CVW 2022 meeting in Oxford in March 2022 then you can contact me through the participation link on the CVW 2022 website pages or contact me by email on: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Please also note that there is a special preferential registration rate for attendance at the UIV 2022 & CCVW 2022 meetings which can be located in the Registration section.

John Herriot
UIV 2022/CVW 2022 Secretariats

Join the conversation on Twitter – #UIV2022

Influenza viruses cause seasonal epidemics as well as pandemics and are a significant concern for human health. Current influenza vaccines show efficacy when they are antigenically well matched to circulating strains. Seasonal influenza viruses undergo antigenic drift at a high rate and, therefore, current vaccines have to be reformulated and readministered on an annual basis. Mismatches between vaccine strains and circulating strains frequently occur, significantly decreasing vaccine efficacy. In addition, current seasonal influenza virus vaccines have limited efficacy against newly emerging pandemic viruses. A universal influenza virus vaccine that induces long-term protection against all influenza virus strains would abolish the need for annual readministration of seasonal influenza virus vaccines and would significantly enhance our pandemic preparedness.

UIV 2022 – this new forum will offer researchers an opportunity to discuss the characteristics of universal influenza vaccines, their potential target antigens, and critical aspects to consider on the path to successfully developing such universal influenza virus vaccines.

The UIV 2022 Scientific Advisory Panel are calling for abstracts for both oral and poster presentation at the meeting – please see the participation page for abstract submission details.

Scientific Advisory Panel

UIV 2022 Conference Chairman:
Sarah Gilbert (Jenner Institute, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK)

Ted Ross (University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia, USA)
Sean Tucker (VAXART Inc., South San Francisco, California, USA)
John Oxford (Queen Mary University of London, London, UK)
Rob Lambkin-Williams (Virology Consult, London, UK)
Christopher Chadwick (World Health Organization, Geneva, Switzerland)
Pamuk Bilsel (FluGen Inc., Madison, Wisconsin, USA)
Othmar Engelhardt (NIBSC, South Mimms, Potters Bar, UK)
Tobias Kamphuis (Janssen Vaccines, Leiden, The Netherlands)
Anke Huckriede (University of Groningen, Groningen, The Netherlands)
Ron Babecoff (BiondVax Pharmaceuticals Ltd, Ness Ziona, Israel)
Tamar Ben-Yedidia (BiondVax Pharmaceuticals Ltd, Ness Ziona, Israel)
Harry Kleanthous (Gates Foundation, Seattle, Washington, USA)
Baozhong Wang (Georgia State University, Atlanta, Georgia, USA)
Emanuele Montomoli (VisMederi Srl, Siena, Italy)
Otfried Kistner (VisMederi, Siena, Italy)
Joanna Waldock (NIBSC, South Mimms, Potters Bar, UK)
Vivek Shinde (Novavax Inc, Rockeville, Maryland, USA)
Yuri Vasiliev (St. Petersburg Research Institute of Vaccines and Sera, St. Petersburg, Russian Federation)
Shan Lu (University of Massachusetts, Worcester, Massachusetts, USA)


UIV 2022 Delegates

Login details will be supplied after you have registered for the event.

UIV 2022 Sponsors

  • NanoFCM
  • BiondVax
  • DNAvaccine.com
  • Vaxart
  • The Native Antigen Company
  • FluConsult
  • Sanofi Pasteur
  • Izon Science
  • VisMederi

UIV 2022 Mailing List

E-mail Address
What is 3+2-1?